Gap Year Begins

It’s been a long time since my last post. Lots has happened. Not all of it great.

My family has been through a lot this year. It’s been hard.

Most recently, I was one of 2,000 Yahoos who lost their jobs as part of a re-structure of the company to position it for future growth.

I’m still trying to get my head around it. Every day it gets easier though.

I’m to live in the moment, and not stress out about the future.

I’m trying to really explore and enjoy and treasure the things that I have — and not focus on, or lament, or mourn the things that I’ve lost this year.

So if you’d indulge me, dear reader, I’d like to take you on this journey with me.

Bringing you along will help keep me on the path. I need to keep it positive. And having you along will help me do that.

So here we go. My first post of “Gap  Year.”

Prior to getting laid off I used to fantasize with my kids and the love-of-my-life what it would be like to have a “Gap Year.”  A year that I take off. I stop working. And I do all the things that I never had time for.

For them that meant things like my learning how to cook a restaurant-quality Calamari dish, my helping them re-decorate their rooms, my going to sports practices and actually watching the kids rather than the Blackberry.

For me it meant I’d stop being distracted and have my mind elsewhere when I was with the people I loved most in the world. I can’t even tell you how many conversations I’ve just completely missed even though I was in the room at the time and the people I love most in the world were talking directly to me. I hate it that I would make them feel like whatever I was absorbed in was more important than what they had to say. For me, Gap Year meant I would stop doing that. And so much more.

The upside of getting laid off is that I get to have a taste of Gap Year.  I don’t know how long it will last. It might not last a year. I’m not quite sure what is going to come next.

So, like I said, I’m trying to live in the moment.

My Monday morning started with an Italian Proverb.

After the game the king and the pawn go into the same box

Every night, before #1 goes to bed, she writes something to me on her white board.

She’s been writing me these notes every day since “Gap Year” officially began. I wish I had taken pictures of all she wrote. I think I was just too numb those first days.

I’m sure she won’t keep doing this indefinately. I’m sure the notes will putter out and fade away.

Regardless…. In this gesture I am reminded that I’ve gained so much more than I’ve lost. I don’t think I’ve ever started a Monday morning feeling more happy than I do today.

Happy Gap Year!

Mary

About Mary Smaragdis

I'm a high tech marketer on "Gap Year." I'm exploring. I'm listening. I'm learning. I'm having the time of my life.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gap Year Begins

  1. Kelli Kolling says:

    Hi Mary – just seeing your posts now (a little late) – I hope you are enjoying your gap year and treasuring your time with your loved ones, yourself and whatever you wish to spend your time on! I empathize and resonate with your posts, and while I have scaled back on work a lot, I am amazed how busy our lives are and how distracted I can still be. Your post was a good reminder to be more present with my loved ones – something I am always working on! Hope you are well! Kelli

  2. DiTucci says:

    Congratulations on having the balls to take some time off! Enjoy every second but also don’t overschedule yourself. I took 1 week off between jobs and was busier than normal. Also, squeeze your #1 extra tight tonight for being so sweet to their Mama. :-)

  3. lskrocki says:

    To steal one of your phrases that has inspired me in moments like this…”To new beginnings!”

    The time between the Sun RIF & my next gig was the most peaceful & personally productive time of my life. While I was grateful for the new gig opportunity, I wish the “downtime” had lasted longer. Enjoy ever minute of Gap Year! :-)))

Leave a Reply

